Tags

, ,

Since there are 12 days left till Xmas I thought I’d try and post 12 pictures of what a kiwi (NZ) one is like.

The 12th of the 12th of the 12th seems like an apt day to start this. (I should have posted at 12.12pm but I missed it!)

I’ve just wikipedia’d it and realized that the 12 days of Christmas (of the carol fame) are supposed to start on the 25th, but never mind. This heathen will be doing the 12 days till Xmas thank you very much.

So here is my first picture of what a kiwi Xmas is all about.

Pohutukawa blossom. This is a native tree known as the NZ Christmas tree, as it flowers right over the Xmas period. The trees typically grown on the coastline and are very windswept and can get very large. Here’s some more Pohutakawa info.

Here’s one in our garden.

Photo 12/12/12: Pohutukawa tree - our native Xmas tree

Photo 12/12/12: Pohutukawa tree – our native Xmas tree

 

