Tags

, , , ,

Right, here we go with answering Liebster Award number two – rua in Maori language.

For info on the Liebster Award please scroll to the bottom of this post – or read Liebster Award – Tahi.

To read how I invented my own (incorrect) way of answering the award you can visit ‘I don’t follow instructions well‘ and read the 11 random facts I shared about myself, before I realised that wasn’t required.

The second Liebster Award I received was from Kate from the great UK blog LesBeMums. She graciously said I didn’t have to do it as I already had a nomination, but I’ve decided to be a sport and do each of the Awards I am nominated for. I so need to be writing regularly again you see.

So here are the questions put to me, including my answers:

  1. If you could be any person (dead) from history, who would you be and why? I have never considered this before and am drawing a blank. So I’ll pick Sappho as who wouldn’t want to be a poet remembered so long after her death. (Not to mention her other famous reputation.
  2. If you could be any person (alive) from history, who would you be and why? Oh even harder. Lot’s of the people I admire became great due to an insanely hard life, and I don’t know that I’d want to experience the hardships they went through. So perhaps I’ll just pick me and hope that I can do something of real significance one day too.
  3. What song would best describe you? The one that has popped into my head is ‘Imagine’ by John Lennon, as I’m an idealist and dream of all those things too.
  4. What would be you last meal on death row? Freshly baked baguette style bread and NZ butter. A crisp green salad with cucumbers and tomatoes, kalamata olives, some feta and a zesty lemon dressing. Fresh New Zealand fish – pan fried & served with a caper, tomato and white wine sauce. A side of roasted potatoes plus a little kumara (sweet potato) and smoked fish salad, (with a basil, caper mayo), on the side. Then followed by a dessert tasting platter with little bites of rhubarb creme brulee; silky bitter-sweet chocolate tart with a raspberry puree; key lime pie with a gingernut base; pavlova with tart lemon curd, whipped cream and passionfruit; malt ice cream affogato, and a coconut and pineapple pannacotta. Plus a nice chillled pinot gris and a margarita and an excellent desert wine. They wouldn’t need to give me the injection lol.
  5. What’s your favourite condiment? St Lucian Pepper Sauce
  6. What animal are you most like? Well the wife calls me a pleasure hound as I love being stroked and patted and massaged, lying in the sun, eating fine food etc. But I read all about my Chinese sign one day and decided it’s very apt. I’m a snake. I like to get my work done as quickly as possible then lie around basking in the sun, I gorge myself eating some times then can go all day without thinking about food other times. I generally avoid fights, but if someone continues to push and push me I will bite back with my mouth – hard.
  7. Who would you like to represent you in a film? Emily Watson, a quirky British actress. I loved her in the 1996 film ‘Breaking the Waves’.
  8. Sunny day or rainy day? Oh, evenly split on that one. I love lying in the sun. Love, love, love it. But I also love lying abed with the rain on the roof. Actually, perhaps I should revise question 6’s answer to Sloth.
  9. What is your favorite moment in history? Well a great moment just recently (17/4/13) was when Marriage Equality became legal in NZ. Not the most significant of all great moments, but pretty damn awesome. Women getting the vote in NZ in 1893 was huge for our country too. Oh and I’m very proud of all the anti-apartheid protesting that happened here when the South African rugby team came to play.
  10. Old School/Vintage or Futuristic? Definitely old school / vintage. I grew up going to vintage car fairs with my dad, my first car at age 15 was a 1948 Morris 8, the first car I purchased for myself was a 1972 Mercedes Benz, (in which I was quite the young dyke about town with my rainbow flag and d.vice sticker on the back and my white English Bull Terrier in the passenger seat). (See the 11 random facts post to learn why I had the d.vice sticker…) I trawled antique shops with my Nana throughout my childhood and was, (still am), a huge wearer of op shop (charity shop) clothes. Our wedding was mostly op shopped – the picnic baskets, blankets, cushions, silverware, vases etc. My brother has owned vintage shops for 19 years now, and I’ve often worked in them and drooled over his gorgeous stuff.
  11. Who would you swap places with for the day? My puppy – spoiled rotten, patted constantly, sleeps in my lap and gets amazing food 4 times a day at present.

My nominees are:

http://spontaneoustomato.com/

http://thefalcoproject.wordpress.com

http://countingchickens.wordpress.com/

http://butchandpregnant.wordpress.com/

http://mamasrapscallion.com/

http://peterscrossstation.wordpress.com/

http://littlemonsterandmommies.blogspot.co.nz/

http://skymindedandevergrowing.blogspot.co.nz

http://uppoppedafox.com/

http://pdxxcollective.com/

http://www.imagineourlife.com/

I theoretically need to list 77 blogs, so some of the ones I am choosing are ones that I love but am pretty sure will have more than 200 followers. Regardless, go check them out, they are all great. If you do leave them a comment, let them know you found them via this blog please.

My questions for these nominees:

1 – Link to a recipe that signifies home for you, it may be a nostalgic childhood one, or one that exemplifies life now. Plus a brief sentence explaining why that recipe.

2 – What clever untruths / lies / white lies did your parents tell you as a child to make their own lives easier (or yours)?

3 – What is an interesting story or fact about one of your ancestors, or living family if you don’t have any old stories.

4 – Have you ever been involved with any kind of political action – if so what was the cause and what was the action?

5 – Have you visited my blog and if so, can you describe it in a sentence or two?

6 – Do you have a tattoo – if yes, of what and why?

7 – Your sibling’s a. most annoying personality trait / habit , b. most endearing personality trait / habit. (Or a parent if you have no siblings)

8 – Describe your current favourite outfit to wear, including accessories if you wear them.

9 – Most bizarre or embarrassing thing you have ever seen in another person’s kitchen/fridge/bathroom?

10 – What did you do on your first date with your current partner (or a previous partner if you are single)?

11 – Your first car (or bicycle if you don’t have a car) – what kind and why?

PS – If you are reading along and any of the questions in these series of Liebster posts entice you to respond – then do so in the comments below!!

Until next time… (I now have 5 more to go as I received another nomination. Good gracious me.)

Since I feel I am entitled to spam you with Fidél photos (due to my conscientious blogging of late) – here’s another picture.

20130807-195622.jpg

Finally, here’s the Liebster Award background info in case you don’t know about it:

So, for anyone who doesn’t know what a Liebster is, it’s a way for small bloggers to give recognition to other small bloggers (200 followers or less).

Here’s how it works:

Copy & Paste This Whole Post and Replace All Your Information — who awarded you, for example.

The rules:

1. Thank the Liebster Blog presenter who nominated you and link back to their blog.

2. Post 11 facts about yourself, answering the 11 questions you were asked and create 11 questions for your nominees.

3. Nominate 11 blogs who you feel deserve to be noticed and leave a comment on their blog letting them know they have been chosen.

4. Display the Liebster Award logo. Argh forgot this so will add it in the morning.

5. No tag backs meaning you can’t just re nominate the person who nominated you.

As Solo the First put it “The real purpose behind these nominations are not only as an accolade from a fellow blogger and let’s face it, nothing gently strokes our little writer hearts more than someone telling you they appreciate your work. In addition to the back patting we need to receive from time to time, it also allows us to get a little more personal as we get to know our increasing blogging community. It also helps drive traffic to your site as we reference one another.”

The end!

